The large landmasses on planet Earth are known as the Continents. The continents are divided into different countries. There are a total of 7 continents which are listed below.

You are watching: What is a large landmass called

AsiaEuropeNorth AmericaSouth AmericaAfricaAustraliaAntarctica 

The top 10 largest countries in the world by area are given below:

Russia (Europe)Canada (North America)China (Asia)USA (North America)Brazil (South America)AustraliaIndiaArgentinaKazakhstanAlgeria 


Brief information about different continents are given below:


It is the largest continent in the world.Asia covers about 30% of the world’s total land area.Approximately 60% of the world’s population lives in Asia.


Australia is known as the island continent.Australia is completely surrounded by oceans on all sides.Australia completely lies in the Southern Hemisphere.Australia is the smallest continent.

North America

It is the world’s 3rd largest continent in the world.North America is completely located in the Western and Northern Hemisphere of the globe.North America is surrounded by 3 different oceans – Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, and Arctic Ocean.


Europe is the second smallest continent.Europe is bound by water bodies on three sides.The Arctic Circle passes through Europe.


Sahara desert, the world’s largest hot desert is located in African continent.Africa is the 2nd largest continent in the world.World’s longest river, the Nile , flows through African continent.The zero degree latitude or the equator runs through the middle of the continent.Major part of the African continent lies in the Northern Hemisphere.It holds a unique distinction that it is the only continent through which the tropic of capricorn, equator, and tropic of cancer passes through the continent.

South America

Narrow strip of land named Isthmus of Panama separates the South American continent and North American continent.The world’s largest river, the Amazon, is in South America.World’s longest mountain range, the Andes, is located in South America.


Antarctica does not have any permanent human settlements.There are research stations of many countries in Antarctica.

See more: 1260 60Th Street Brooklyn Ny 11219, 1260 60Th St, Brooklyn, Ny 11219

Dakshin Gangotri and Maitri are the research stations of India at Antarctica.The South Pole lies at the centre of Antarctica.Thick ice sheets permanently cover Antarctica.